List of [Conventional] Nuclear Powerstations in India

Nuclear power is the fifth-largest source of electricity in India after thermal, hydroelectric and renewable sources of electricity. As of March 2017, India has 22 nuclear reactors in operation at seven sites, having an installed capacity of 6780 MW. and producing a total of 30,292.91 GWh of electricity 11 more reactors are under construction to generate an additional 8,100 MW.

S.No. State Powerstation Name Operator Location
1 Maharashtra Tarapur Atomic Power Station NPCIL Tarapur
2 Gujarat Kakrapar Atomic Power Station NPCIL Kakrapar
3 Tamil Nadu Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant NPCIL Kudankulam
4 Tamil Nadu Madras Atomic Power Station NPCIL Kalpakkam
5 Karnataka Kaiga Nuclear Power Plant NPCIL Kaiga
6 Rajasthan Rajasthan Atomic Power Station NPCIL Rawatbhata
7 Rajasthan Rajasthan Atomic Power Station DAE Rawatbhata
8 Uttar Pradesh Narora Atomic Power Station NPCIL Narora
9 Haryana Gorakhpur Nuclear Power Plant NPCIL Fatehabad

* For any query/update, feel free to mail us at