State: Chhattisgarh (CG) Statehood: 01 November 2000 10178 Views

Mahasamund district is located in the state of Chhattisgarh, India. It is situated in the central part of the state and is surrounded by Raipur, Dhamtari, Gariaband, and Nuapada districts.

Mahasamund district has a rich historical and cultural significance. It was formerly a part of the Raipur district but was carved out as a separate district on 1st January 2012. The district derives its name from the Mahanadi River, which flows through the region.

List of Chief Ministers of Chhattisgarh

S.No. Chief Minister Name Tenure
1 Ajit Jogi 1 November 2000 to 7 December 2003
2 Raman Singh 7 December 2003 to 11 December 2008
3 Raman Singh 12 December 2008 to 11 December 2013
4 Raman Singh 12 December 2013 to 17 December 2018
5 Bhupesh Baghel 17 December 2018 to Incumbent
* For any query/update, feel free to mail us at